Stephen McCullagh is appointed as new Loughmacrory GFC Chairman for 2016

The annual Loch Mhic Ruairi GFC AGM went ahead in the Loughmacrory GAA Clubrooms last night and saw a new Chairman and Secretary elected on the evening.

There was indeed a very large turnout for the 2015 AGM as members listened to a review of the year gone by and a look ahead to what promises to be a very bright future for the club.

While the club secured Intermediate status in 2015, the main highlights included reaching the Grade 1 Under 16FC Final on County final day (eventually losing after a replay), reaching the Minor Championship final and being awarded the Ulster GAA Clubground of the Year for County Tyrone and the runner-up in that category overall.


The incoming Executive of the Loughmacrory GFC Committee for 2016 following last night’s AGM are Aidan Gordon (Secretary), Stephen McCullagh (Chairman) and Kevin McElduff (Treasurer).

In relation to the incoming Committee for 2016 there was the election of a new Club Chairman and Secretary.

Stephen McCullagh, who has been Vice Chairman, Secretary and PRO of the club in a long association with the club committee, moved into the hotseat as the new Club Chairman and will no doubt be a popular choice in that role. Stephen has been an integral figure within the club for many years and has always exhibited a fantastic passion for gaelic football and the GAA in general and was clearly enthused by his new position.

“It is a great honour for me to take up the position of Chairman in Loughmacrory GFC. This club has shown terrific progress over the year and when you look at the development of the facilities in the club and the progress being made on the field of play, particularly at underage level, the signs are very bright indeed for Loughmacrory club.”

“Barry (McElduff) has served for four years before me as Chairman and said that his ultimate aim was to leave the club in a stronger position than when he came in and there is no doubt when you look at what has been achieved that he accomplished that task. I thank Barry and Sean (McDermott) for all their time and effort they have put into the club in their roles as Chairman and Secretary and I hope now that I can show the same leadership going forward”

One key aspect which was discussed on the evening was the way in which the club was overlooked by the Tyrone GAA CCC in the appointment of any Tyrone GAA Club championship games in 2015. With the club having made such massive progress in terms of club infrastructure and now with a brand new 500 seater stadium, extensive car parking facilities and having been awarded by Ulster GAA as the “Best Overall Clubgrounds in Tyrone” for 2015, there were a host of queries in relation to this topic.


Sean McDermott was also stepping out of the secretary’s position in the club and this role is now taken up by Aidan Gordon with Shane McCullagh moving into the Vice Chairman position for the year ahead and Mark Grimes as Assistant Secretary.

Seamus Mullan will once again go into the new year as President of Loch Mhic Ruairí Cumann Naomh Treasa while Kevin McElduff, who presented a comprehensive financial report for the year and showed continued progress in that area for the club, is again Treasurer for the club going into 2016.

Overall another strong committee, with a number of new faces also being added to the committee, and Loughmacrory GFC certainly moves into 2016 with a very optimistic outlook indeed.

You may also like...